Fireclay is a natural material consisting of only three ingredients: clay, fired clay and water – nothing else.

Despite the few ingredients, the production of fireclay is a complex and intricate procedure that requires a lot of expertise, selected raw materials, modern facilities and high precision.

With more than 160 years of company history, we are one of the oldest manufacturers of refractory products in Germany. We have always made it our mission to produce the highest quality of fireclay.

Not all fireclay is alike. Depending on which clays are chosen and according to which recipe they are mixed, our products meet very different requirements. According to the application, the fireclay must sometimes be particularly solid, sometimes particularly easy to work with and heat-storing, sometimes above all soot-fire resistant and insensitive to moisture. When fulfilling these requirements, we ensure the highest quality.

Raw material

We obtain all raw materials for our production locally. Parts of the materials are extracted from our own pit – this results in the characteristic colour of our HBO+ quality.

Preparing materials

For the production compound, fresh clay is processed by grinding and sieving and then mixed with fired, re-grounded clay. For this, we use unavoidable production reject – and thus produce practically waste-free.

Shaping

The mass is pulled into shape through a mouthpiece. From the resulting endless strand, the various bricks and plates are cut with a wire. Some bricks, especially our shaped chamotte bricks, are further processed by additional repressing or special shaping.

We produce fully automatically as well as with manual working methods. Depending on the product and quantity, the most feasible method is chosen in terms of price and quality. We always rely on the latest technology and precision machines specially developed for our company.

Tool manufacturing is also in our own hands: we run our own metalworking department. The maintenance of buildings and facilities is carried out by the colleagues from the in-house electrical department.

Drying

Once the shaping is complete, the raw products are dried. For this purpose, we use the exhaust heat of the firing process.

Firing

The energy-efficient operation of our furnaces and the entire production process is our highest demand: Tunnel furnaces are mainly used for the firing, which operate in accordance with state-of-the-art combustion technology in a resource-efficient and low-emission manner. The products are fired at more than 1,000 °C. This process takes three days. Now the products are stored for retrieval or go directly to the shipping department.

Quality

The entire manufacturing process is subject to strict controls by experts from our in-house laboratory – from the monitoring of the raw materials to the mixed compounds up to the fired product.

All parameters that affect the ceramic properties are inspected several times a day.

With this, we constantly guarantee the highest quality.

X

Produktion

Schamotte ist ein reines Naturmaterial, das aus nur drei Inhaltsstoffen besteht: Ton, gebranntem Ton und Wasser – sonst nichts.


Trotz der wenigen Inhaltsstoffe ist die Herstellung von Schamotte ein komplexer und aufwendiger Vorgang, der viel Expertise, ausgewählte Rohstoffe, moderne Anlagen und hohe Präzision erfordert.

Mit über 160 Jahren Firmen-Geschichte sind wir zu einer der ältesten Hersteller feuerfester Erzeugnisse in Deutschland. Seit jeher machen wir es uns zur Aufgabe, Schamotte in höchster Qualität zu produzieren.

Schamotte ist nicht gleich Schamotte. Je nachdem welche Tone gewählt werden und nach welcher Rezeptur diese gemischt werden, erfüllen unsere Produkte ganz unterschiedliche Anforderungen. Je nach Anwendung muss die Schamotte mal besonders fest sein, mal besonders gut bearbeitbar und wärmespeichernd, mal vor allem rußbrandbeständig und feuchteunempfindlich. Beim Erfüllen dieser Anforderungen gewährleisten wir höchste Qualität.

Rohstoff

Die Rohstoffe für unsere Produktion beziehen wir alle aus der Region. Teile davon fördern wir aus unserer eigenen Grube – hierdurch ergibt sich die charakteristische Farbe unserer HBO+ Qualität.

Rezeptur

Für die Produktionsmasse wird frischer Ton durch Mahlen und Sieben aufbereitet und mit bereits gebranntem, erneut gemahlenem Ton vermengt. Dafür verwenden wir unvermeidbaren Ausschuss – und produzieren so quasi abfallfrei.

Formgeben

Die Masse wird durch ein Mundstück in Form „gezogen“. Von dem daraus entstehenden Endlos-Strang, werden mit einem Draht die verschiedenen Steine und Platten abgetrennt. Manche Steine – insbesondere unsere Formsteine – werden durch zusätzliches Nachpressen oder eine spezielle Formgebung noch weiterverarbeitet.

Wir arbeiten sowohl mit vollautomatischer Produktion, als auch manuellen Arbeitsweisen. Je nach Produkt und Stückzahl wird die sinnvollste Methode hinsichtlich Preis und Qualität gezielt gewählt. Dabei setzen dir stets auf neueste Technik und speziell für die Firma entwickelte Präzisionsmaschinen.

Auch der Werkzeugbau liegt in unserer eigenen Hand: Es wird eine eigene Schlosserei betrieben. Die Instandhaltung von Gebäude und Anlagen übernehmen die Kollegen aus der hauseigenen Elektrowerkstatt.

Trocknen

Ist die Formgebung abgeschlossen, werden die rohen Produkte getrocknet. Hierzu nutzen wir die Abwärme aus dem Brennprozess.

Brennen

Das energieeffiziente Betreiben unserer Öfen und des gesamten Produktionsprozesses ist unser höchster Anspruch: Für den Brand werden vorwiegend Tunnelöfen verwendet, die entsprechend modernster Brenntechnik ressourceneffizient und emissionsarm arbeiten. Darin werden die Produkte bei über 1.000 °C gebrannt. Dieser Vorgang dauert drei Tage. Jetzt werden die Produkte zum Abruf gelagert oder gehen direkt in den Versand.

Qualität

Der gesamte Fertigungsprozess untersteht dabei strengen Kontrollen durch Experten unseres hauseigenen Labors – von der Überwachung der Rohstoffe über die gemischten Massen bis hin zum gebrannten Produkt. Sämtliche Parameter, die Auswirkungen auf die keramischen Eigenschaften haben, werden mehrfach täglich kontrolliert.

So garantieren wir gleichbleibend höchste Qualität.

X